Skip to main content

CARABAO CUP | Charlton to discover first-round opponents on Friday

Posted: Tue 13 Jun 2017

The regionalised draw - for which we are seeded - will take place at 1pm on Friday afternoon

The draw for the first round of the 2017/18 Carabao Cup will be streamed live from Bangkok, Thailand on Friday, June 16th at 1pm (UK time).
World Cup winner Emmanuel Petit, Carabao CEO Sathien Setthasit, British Ambassador to Thailand Brian Davidson and EFL Chief Executive Shaun Harvey will unveil the 35 round-one ties from the home of the competition’s title sponsor, Carabao Energy Drink. 

Fans will be able to watch the draw unfold live on various platforms.
Seventy EFL clubs will be in the draw with matches scheduled to take place week commencing August 7th. Championship newcomers Hull City and Middlesbrough will join the competition in round two alongside the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe.
The draw is also regionalised to minimise travelling time for supporters in the first round, with seeding decided by a club’s finishing position in the EFL. 
Seeding, regionalisation and ball numbers within seeding groups can be viewed below.

North – Seeds
1.   Barnsley
2.   Blackburn Rovers
3.   Bolton Wanderers
4.   Bradford City
5.   Burton Albion
6.   Derby County
7.   Fleetwood Town
8.   Leeds United
9.   Nottingham Forest
10.  Preston North End
11.  Rochdale
12.  Rotherham United
13.  Scunthorpe United
14.  Sheffield United
15.  Sheffield Wednesday
16.  Sunderland
17.  Wigan Athletic
North – Non-Seeds
18.  Accrington Stanley
19.  Blackpool
20.  Bury
21.  Carlisle United
22.  Chesterfield
23.  Coventry City
24.  Crewe Alexandra
25.  Doncaster Rovers
26.  Grimsby Town
27.  Lincoln City
28.  Mansfield Town
29.  Morecambe
30.  Notts County
31.  Oldham Athletic
32.  Port Vale
33.  Shrewsbury Town
34.  Walsall
South – Seeds
1.   Aston Villa
2.   Birmingham City
3.   Brentford
4.   Bristol City
5.   Bristol Rovers
6.   Cardiff City
7.   Charlton Athletic
8.   Fulham
9.   Ipswich Town
10.  Millwall
11.  Milton Keynes Dons
12.  Norwich City
13.  Oxford United
14.  Peterborough United
15.  Queens Park Rangers
16.  Reading
17.  Southend United
18.  Wolverhampton Wanderers
South – Non-Seeds
19.  AFC Wimbledon
20.  Barnet
21.  Cambridge United
22.  Cheltenham Town
23.  Colchester United
24.  Crawley Town
25.  Exeter City
26.  Forest Green Rovers
27.  Gillingham
28.  Luton Town
29.  Newport County
30.  Northampton Town
31.  Plymouth Argyle
32.  Portsmouth
33.  Stevenage
34.  Swindon Town
35.  Wycombe Wanderers
36.  Yeovil Town