Skip to main content

Solly wins player of the year award

Posted: Sun 05 May 2013
Author: Matt Wright
Chris Solly is the 2013 player of the year

Chris Solly is the 2013 player of the year

Image by: Tony Mitchell

Charlton defender wins the prize for the second year in a row, with Johnnie Jackson and Yann Kermorgant finishing second and third respectively

Matt Wright reports

Chris Solly has been crowned Charlton’s player of the year for the second season in a row.

The homegrown Addicks right-back won 45 per cent of the vote to win the 2013 prize ahead of second-placed Johnnie Jackson and Yann Kermorgant.

It’s a third trophy in two years for Solly, who was also named the Young Player of the Year last term. Jackson (27 per cent) and Kermorgant (15 per cent) were also second and third last year, when the club won the League One championship, but in the reverse order.

Speaking about last season’s player of the year award at the end of last month, Solly said: “Anyone who says personal achievements don’t mean a lot is lying, because it’s a massive thing. I was so proud to win it.”

Solly, a byword for consistency, has missed just one league match this term and also scored a goal-of-the-season contender away at Blackpool in October.

Charlton’s young player of the year, selected by manager Chris Powell and his coaching staff, is Callum Harriott, who collects the award for the second time in three years.

The homegrown winger scored two goals in 14 games in 2012/13, and played a key role in the club’s fine form at the end of the season.

Skipper Jackson was named the players' player of the year, selected by the rest of the Addicks' squad.

The lifetime achievement award at the Fans’ Forum-organised event was presented to Charlton supporter Seb Lewis, who has attended the last 700 Addicks matches stretching back to February 1998. He’s also celebrated among fellow fans for his ‘worm’-style dance move on the terraces.

There was a 50 per cent increase in the number of votes cast for the latest three players to enter the Charlton Athletic Hall of Fame, and Sam Bartram, Derek Hales and Clive Mendonca have been joined by Don Welsh, Keith Peacock and Richard Rufus.

1947 FA Cup-winning Welsh gained 82 per cent of the vote for the pre-1950 category, ahead of Bert Johnson, while club stalwart Peacock gained 70 per cent ahead of Stuart Leary in the 1951-80 section.

In the 1981 onwards category, Rufus gained 47 per cent of the votes – only a handful ahead of Mark Kinsella. Johnson, Leary and Kinsella will be nominated again next year.

More from Sunday night’s player of the year event will follow on and CAFC Player next week.